Waar castle was built during the period 1587- 1590 and the work was commissioned by Karine Friis, the widow of squire and vassal Bjørn Andersen. The building was built as one of the largest manor houses in Northern Jutland with three wings, three floors, a tower, a moat and a drawbridge.
In the first couple of centuries, the land property consisted of about 10,000 hectares (approx. 25,000 acres). The source of income was mainly animal husbandry, fishing and especially the ferry service from Staun to Attrup in Hanherred was lucrative. The old travel barn where travelers stayed the night waiting for the ferry still stands outside the wall of Waar.
In 1722, the then owner Jokum Poulsen wanted to modernize the manor house and tore down the top floor and one of the wings, drained the moat and turned it into a garden.
Throughout the 19th century, like most other manor houses in Northern Jutland, Waar became the victim of bad times and the land was slowly sold off. In 1922 the last 500 hectares (approx. 1250 acres) were sold. A part of it was bought by the Danish state and was divided into state smallholdings.
The well-known author Knuth Becker bought Waar in 1934 and owned it until his death in 1975.
In 1977 Vivi and Anders Amager bought Waar Manor House, which, at time, was almost a ruin. It was going to be the home of the Amager-family. The roof was replaced and the interior was renovated. The two neighboring houses were added so the property now stands as one entity in the valley of Vår.
Today the manor house is owned by Vivi, Anders and their four children. Lykke Amager Janek is in charge of the B&B and the daily running of the manor house.